Governor Names Francis Idehen to Board of Trustees

Governor Names Francis Idehen to Board of Trustees

Printer-friendly versionPDF version
July 30, 2015

On July 27, Gov. Rauner appointed Francis Idehen, Jr. to a six-year term on the SURS Board of Trustees. His appointment must be approved by the Illinois Senate.

Idehen is vice president for Investor Relations at Exelon Corporation, where he is responsible for developing and implementing the company’s strategic investor relations program. Previously, Idehen was the managing director of Exelon’s Private Investments Organization, a senior portfolio manager at Intel Corporation, and an associate at Lehman Brothers.

He holds a bachelor’s degree in economics from Yale University and a master’s degree in business administration from Harvard Business School.

Idehen serves as a Chicago Advisory Board member of Facing History and Ourselves, a global non-profit organization that develops educational material on prejudices and injustices and their impact on individuals and society at large. He is also active with the Robert Toigo Foundation, a non-profit organization that offers financial, coaching, and mentoring resources to minority MBA candidates pursuing careers in finance, as well as Prep for Prep, a non-profit organization that offers promising students of color access to a private school education and life changing opportunities. Idehen is a Leadership Greater Chicago Fellow. He lives in Chicago.

Idehen replaces Trustee Richard Figueroa, whose appointment expired July 15, 2015.

Other members of the SURS Board of Trustees include Chairperson Lindsay Anderson, Aaron Ammons, Dennis Cullen, John Engstrom, J. Fred Giertz, Paul R.T. Johnson Jr., Craig McCrohon, Dorinda Miller, Steven Rock and Antonio Vasquez.

The SURS Board is comprised of 11 members: four elected participating (active) SURS members, two elected annuitant (retired) SURS members, four members appointed by the governor, and the chairperson, appointed by the governor, who also serves as the chair of the Illinois State Board of Higher Education.